2013 Leadership and Service Award Recipients

2013 Leadership Award

IMTC 20th Anniversary Forum, October 8-10, 2013, Porto, Portugal

Dr. Thomas Wiegand, Fraunhofer HHI

The Leadership Award honored Dr. Thomas Wiegand of Fraunhofer HHI for his contributions to video coding and its standardization. The H.264/MPEG-4 Advanced Video Coding (AVC) standard is Thomas Wiegand’s greatest subject of contribution.  He was chief editor of the standard, Associate Rapporteur of ITU-T Video Coding Experts Group (VCEG), Co-Chair of the Joint Video Team (JVT), and was a major technical contributor to the entire process of its development and its several generations of major enhancement extensions, including the Fidelity Range Extensions (which include the High profile that won an ATAS Emmy award in 2008), the Scalable Video Coding (SVC) extensions, and the Multiview Video Coding (MVC) Extensions.

Thomas Wiegand is a professor at the department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the Berlin Institute of Technology, chairing the Image Communication Laboratory, and is jointly heading the Image Processing department of the Fraunhofer Institute for Telecommunications – Heinrich Hertz Institute, Berlin, Germany. He received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, Germany, in 1995 and the Dr.-Ing. degree from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, in 2000. He joined the Heinrich Hertz Institute in 2000 as the head of the Image Communication group in the Image Processing department. His research interests include video processing and coding, multimedia transmission, as well as computer vision and graphics.

2013 Service Award Recipients
Recognizing significant contributions to IMTC

  • Andrea Basso
  • David Benham
  • Christophe Dutein
  • Satish Jamagadni