2014 Leadership Award

2014 Leadership Award
The Leadership Award honoured two gentlemen for their contributions to audio coding and its standardization. This year’s award recognizes the efforts and innovation in the development of the Modified Discrete Cosine Transform (MDCT). MDCT became a key element in perceptual audio codecs created thereafter, including mp3, AAC, G.700 family and even Opus. The awards ceremony was held during the IMTC Member Meeting, October 15-16, 2014, in Redmond, Washington.

Dr. Bernd Edler, International Audio Laboratories Erlangen

Dr. Bernd Edler’s main research area is audio coding, where he made significant contributions to several international standards including MPEG-1 Layer3 (mp3), MPEG-2 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), MPEG Unified Speech and Audio Coding (USAC), MPEG-H 3D Audio. Additionally, he worked on improvements of signal processing algorithms for cochlear implants. He contributed to more than 50 technical papers in these fields and is the co-inventor of several international patents. Bernd Edler isa member of the Audio Engineering Society (AES), VDE/ITG, DIN NI-29, and MPEG. In the latter, he chaired several ad-hoc groups and was acting chair of an audio sub-group meeting.

Bernd Edler received his Dipl.-Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg in 1985 and his PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Hannover in 1994. There, he continued his research work until 2010 with an interruption from 1998 to 1999 when he was a guest scientist at Bell Laboratories in New Jersey, USA. In 2010, the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) appointed him as a Professor of audio signal analysis at the International Audio Laboratories Erlangen.

Dr. Karlheinz Brandenburg, Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology

Dr. Karlheinz Brandenburg has been a driving force behind some of today´s most innovative digital audio technology, notably the mp3 and MPEG audio standards. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as well as a Fellow of the Audio Engineering Society (AES). During his career, Karlheinz Brandenburg has been granted about 100 patents and has published numerous articles for scientific conferences.

Karlheinz Brandenburg is a full Professor at the Institute of Media Technology at the Ilmenau University of Technology and director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology (IDMT). He received engineering degrees from Erlangen University in Electrical Engineering (1980) and in Mathematics (1982). In 1989 he obtained his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg. The research results of his dissertation are the basis of MPEG 1 Layer 3 (mp3), MPEG – 2 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC) and most other modern audio compression schemes.

2014 Service Award Recipients
Recognizing significant contributions to IMTC

  • Markus Hanhisalo

Recognizing significant contributions to UCI Forum

  • Matt Collier
  • Jeffrey Rodman
  • Bernard Aboda
  • Alex Eleftheriadis
  • Manfred Arndt
  • Ori Modai
  • Casey King
  • Mary Barnes
  • Timothy O’Neil
  • Pascal Menezes
  • Brad Chalker
  • Linda Braun
  • Yair Weiner