IMTC Leadership and Service Awards – 2008

2008 Leadership Award Recipients

Fall Forum – November 12-13, 2008, San Francisco, CA

  • Dr. Gary Sullivan, Microsoft
    Gary Sullivan The Leadership Award honored Dr. Gary Sullivan of Microsoft for his contributions to video coding and its standardization. The results of Sullivan’s research and his contributions are integral parts of today’s modern video standards such as H.263 and H.264. Gary Sullivan is the rapporteur of the ITU-T Video Coding Experts Group (VCEG), a co-chairman of the video part of the ISO/IEC Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG), a co-chairman of the Joint Video Team (JVT) and a video architect in the Core Media Processing group in the Windows division of Microsoft. Gary was JVT chairman for the development of the next generation H.264/AVC video coding standard and its fidelity-range extensions (FRExt); and co-chair for the development of the scalable video coding (SVC) and multiview video coding (MVC) extensions.

    Gary received B.S. and M.S. Engineering degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Louisville J.B. Speed School of Engineering, Kentucky, in 1982 and 1983, respectively. He received Ph.D. and Engineer degrees in electrical engineering from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1991.

2008 H.323 Pioneer and Major Contributor Award

This award is presented in recognition of those individuals who played a key role as pioneers and for their significant contributions to the development of the ITU-T H.323 standard.

  • Martin Euchner, Key contributor to H.323 security and H.235-series Editor
  • Glen Freundlich, H.225.0 Editor; former Rapporteur of Q14/16
  • Paul Jones, Rapporteur, H.323 Editor, owner/editor of Packetizer
  • Markku Korpi, Co-author of IP Telephony With H.323 (Wiley, 2001), H.450-series Editor and major contributor to H.450
  • Dr. Vineet Kumar, Co-author of IP Telephony With H.323 (Wiley, 2001), key technical contributor
  • Mike Nilsson, H.245 Editor (v1 to v14)
  • Dr. Jörg Ott, Editor of H.323 Annex F and key technical contributor
  • Mark Reid, H.246 Editor and key technical contributor
  • Sasha Ruditsky, Key tech contributor and H.460 Editor (5, 17-19)
  • Dale Skran, Rapporteur and H.225.0 Editor; former Rapporteur of Question 13/16 (H.323 Experts group)
  • Gary Thom, H.323 Editor (original); former Rapporteur of Q14/16
  • Jim Toga, H.323 IG Editor and recognized authority on H.323
  • VocalTec team for their major contributions to H.323

2008 Service Award Recipients

Recognizing significant contributions to IMTC

  • Oren Libis, Radvision
  • Chris Steck, Real Networks
  • Russell Steed, formerly Polycom
  • Amir Wolf, Rhythm NewMedia