MEF 3.0 Certifications for SASE Services

Delivering confidence to the enterprise using SASE & cybersecurity services.

Certifying Cybersecurity Services

Enterprises individually face the third largest economy of the world after those of the US and China—the cybercrime economy that is growing 15% each year. It was a $3 trillion industry in 2015 and will grow to a $10.5 trillion industry by 2025. The cybercrime economy already costs the real and productive global economy a trillion dollars in damages annually.

Enterprises also face a bewildering range of cybersecurity solutions that tackle different layers and areas of the cyberthreat landscape, as well as increasing demands for compliance from regulators, shareholders, and insurance companies.

In response to these major challenges for enterprises worldwide, MEF has developed and published industry standards and delivered a new, modular MEF 3.0 SASE Certification program underpinned by those standards. Together, these standards and certification program help service providers deliver cybersecurity services that protect their enterprise customers in the constantly evolving worlds of cybercrime and cybersecurity.

MEF Certified 3.0 Logo - Blue

MEF Cybersecurity Standards

MEF is publishing and continuously developing standards in the three core areas of cybersecurity—SASE, Zero Trust, and SD-WAN—including:

These MEF standards enable all stakeholders to use the same terminology and core concepts on which to build solutions that shrink the attack surface of enterprises by minimizing vulnerabilities introduced by bespoke, proprietary approaches to cybersecurity.

MEF 3.0 SASE Certification

SASE Certification = SD-WAN Certification + SSE Certification + Zero Trust Certification

SASE Certification = SD-WAN Certification + SSE Certification + Zero Trust Certification

MEF’s SASE certification is an aggregate of the certification of the underlying components of one or more of the following:

  • SD-WAN certification.
  • SSE certification.
  • Zero Trust certification.

MEF’s approach to certification of cybersecurity service providers is modular.

Under the unifying umbrella of SASE (Secure Access Service Edge), service providers can certify their service’s effectiveness in the following scorecard categories:

  • WAN impairments.
  • Scale performance.
  • Classification verification.
  • Threat protection.
  • TLS/SSL functionality.
  • Zero trust network access.
  • Conformance to MEF standards.

Based on the score achieved, the certifying company achieves a badge displayed on the MEF website.

The current SASE certification program enables technology vendors to test and confirm they have the necessary, validated SD-WAN, Zero Trust, and SSE components to enable high-performance SASE services. Meanwhile, service providers can show they are using the certified SD-WAN, Zero Trust, and SSE components for their SASE services through inheriting the certifications of their vendors.

MEF’s SASE Certification Partner is a nonprofit organization formed by former executives from NSS Labs to provide transparency through testing.

NSS Labs was an independent analysis and testing company recognized around the world for its fact-based cybersecurity guidance. Vikram Phatak, founder of, was CEO of NSS Labs from 2007–2018.

Launched in December 2020, CyberRatings acquired the assets of NSS Labs to jump start its testing program. Initial testing began in a dedicated data center followed by a physical lab now running in Austin, Texas.

CyberRatings’ proprietary ratings system (similar to Moody’s) provides guidance on the capabilities of products and services in a language understood by all.

MEF SASE Certification Workflow for Service Providers​

  1. Service Provider engages with MEF and completes MEF SASE Certification Questionnaire.
  2. Service Provider contracts with MEF.
  3. MEF validates the Technology Provider certifications.
  4. MEF publishes certification on MEF Services Registry.

What Can I Achieve with MEF 3.0 SASE Certification?

MEF 3.0 SASE certifications for services enables service providers to establish a standards-compliant presence within a federation of automated networks.

Cybersecurity Certification advantages:

  • Validated performance excellence.
  • Competitive differentiation.

Explore MEF SASE Certifications for Services

Certifications for SD-WAN Services

MEF 3.0 Certifications for SD-WAN Services

Certifications for SSE Services

Explore Certifications for SSE Services

Certifications for Zero Trust Services

Explore Certifications for Zero Trust Services

Be In the Business—Align with industry best practices.

Contact Us with Questions